How Do You Get a Motorcycle License in Arizona?

Lerner and Rowe Injury Attorneys
Arizona motorcycle license

From the Grand Canyon to Tombstone, Arizona is home to some of the best motorcycle rides in the Southwest. But in order to hit the open road and experience these beautiful landscapes for yourself, you’ll need to get an Arizona motorcycle license. Find out how to obtain a motorcycle license or endorsement with this step-by-step guide from the personal injury lawyers at Lerner and Rowe Injury Attorneys.

4 Steps to Getting Your Motorcycle License or Endorsement

Under Arizona law, operating a motorcycle or a motor-driven cycle requires a motorcycle license or endorsement. Arizona Revised Statutes (ARS) § 28-101 defines a motorcycle as any motor vehicle with a seat or saddle for the rider that is designed to travel on three or fewer wheels in contact with the ground.

A motor-driven cycle refers to all motorcycles with a motor of five horsepower or less. Tractors, electric bicycles, electric scooters, and mopeds are excepted from these definitions and do not require a motorcycle license or endorsement to operate.

Related: Do You Have to Wear a Motorcycle Helmet in Arizona?

Step 1: Pass the Motorcycle Operator Written Test

You can get a motorcycle license in Arizona at the age of 16. However, obtaining a license requires additional steps if you are under the age of 18. The first step towards getting your Arizona motorcycle license is to pass the motorcycle operator written test. If you are a first-time driver (that is, you do not have a driver’s permit or driver’s license), you will also need to pass the driver’s license written test.

All testing material can be found in the Arizona Driver License Manual, the Motorcycle Operator Manual, and the Motorcycle Safety Presentation.

Step 2: Get a Motorcycle Instruction Permit (Under 18 Only)

Arizona residents are eligible to obtain a motorcycle instruction permit at the age of 15 years and 6 months, after passing the written exam(s). A parent or guardian must sign your application for a permit. 

A motorcycle instruction or learner’s permit allows you to operate a motorcycle under limited circumstances. Riders who only hold an instruction permit cannot:

  • Ride with passengers
  • Operate a motorcycle on freeways or highways
  • Ride between sunset and sunrise
  • Ride when there is not enough light to see people or vehicles clearly at a distance of at least 500 feet

Once issued, motorcycle instruction permits are valid for seven months. You can renew your permit once within a 24-month period. Additionally, you must hold the motorcycle instruction permit for at least six months before applying for a motorcycle license.

Step 3: Complete a Motorcycle Driver Education Program

The next step to obtain an Arizona motorcycle license is to complete a motorcycle driver education program that has been approved by the Motor Vehicle Department (MVD). You can find a list of approved motorcycle training schools on the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) website.

As an alternative to taking a motorcycle driver education program, riders under the age of 18 may opt to instead complete 30 hours or more of motorcycle riding practice. A parent or guardian must certify these practice hours.

Step 4: Pass the Motorcycle Skills Test

The final step to getting your motorcycle license or endorsement in Arizona is to pass the motorcycle skills test. Road tests are by appointment only. You can schedule your motorcycle skills test by calling 602-255-0072 or online at AZMVDNow.gov.

The exam is a simple 10 to 15 minute off-street demonstration of your riding skills. You will complete four exercises including tasks such as weaving, non-skidding stops, U-turns, and swerving to avoid obstacles. 

When you pass the motorcycle skills test, you will earn your Arizona motorcycle license or endorsement. Once issued, your motorcycle license will not expire until age 65. If you are 60 years old or older at the time your motorcycle license or endorsement is issued, you will receive a five-year license. Please note that regardless of age, you will still need to update your ID photo and take an eye exam every 12 years. 

Who to Call if You’re Injured in a Motorcycle Accident

Unfortunately, even the most skilled riders are sometimes injured in motorcycle accidents through no fault of their own. Whether you recently received your motorcycle endorsement or have been riding for years, it’s important to know who to call if you are injured in a wreck.

Related: 8 Steps to Take After a Phoenix Motorcycle Accident

At Lerner and Rowe Injury Attorneys, we’ve helped thousands of clients get the compensation they deserve after being injured due to someone else’s negligence. Our motorcycle accident attorneys provide legal assistance throughout Arizona, with offices located in Phoenix, Glendale, Mesa, Gilbert, Tolleson, and Chandler. 

Representatives are available to help you 24/7. Just call 602-977-1900, connect online with a LiveChat agent, or fill out this form to request your free, no obligation legal consultation. The call is free, the consultation is free, and we charge no fees until we’ve made a recovery on your behalf.

The information on this blog is for general information purposes only. Nothing herein should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.