Nevada boasts some of the harshest drunk driving penalties in the country. Anyone caught driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or more can expect an arrest and DUI charges.
Nevada Drunk Driving
Not only do convicted drivers face the loss of driver’s license, but they also can expect to pay thousands of dollars in fines and other costs, depending on how many prior convictions they have and whether there was a car accident involved.
First-offense DUI convictions can result in jail time for two days up to six months, or 96 hours of community service. There could also be a fine between $400 to 1,000, plus court costs.
Additionally, a first-offence conviction may result in the loss of a persons right to drive for 90 days, plus a $35 civil penalty fee. The state may also require attendance at a drunk driving school – which includes an additional out-of-pocket expenses for the person convicted.
For those with a BAC higher than .18, they can expect to be required to mandatory participation in an alcohol treatment program, as well as being required to have a Breath Interlock Device installed in their vehicle for 12 to 36 months.
Other expensive fees associated with the devices include a $85-100 installation fee, monthly rental fees of approximately $75-90, and also, monthly administration fees paid to the state of Nevada. Further, if any serious injuries occur, intoxication while driving can be used to establish negligence in a civil trial for any injuries to another party.
Those facing a second DUI conviction within a seven-year period must spend 10 days to six months in jail or enter a residential treatment program. They will also lose their driving privileges for one year and must pay a $35 civil penalty. Additionally, they can expect to pay a fine of between $750 to $1,000 for driving drunk in Nevada.
The court will also order an alcohol dependency evaluation, which cost approximately $100. Further costs include the expenses to attend a mandatory attendance at a long-term DUI school.
For those with a BAC .18 or higher, a Breath Interlock Device will be installed in their vehicle for 12 to 36 months, per state requirement.
For those found guilty of a third-offense DUI conviction within seven years, they will now face a Class B felony charge.
Consequences for a third conviction include:
- Prison sentence between one and six years.
- Driver’s license suspension for three years.
- Fine between $2,000 and $5,000.
Additionally, the person will be required to attend an alcohol treatment program for a minimum of three years as well. Once their driving privileges are reinstated, they can expect a Breath Interlock Device to be installed in their vehicle for 12 to 36 months, per state requirements.Injured from an accident involving someone drinking and driving in Nevada? Contact us today. At Lerner and Rowe Injury Attorneys, will fight for the justice you deserve. We answer our phone 24/7, or you can visit us during regular business hours at any of our Las Vegas area law offices Monday through Friday, from 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.