Despite Hands-Free Laws, Distracted Driving Still Major Issue in Nevada

Lerner & Rowe Injury Attorneys
Distracted Driver
Injured in an accident because of a distracted driver? Contact us today!

Despite all the education and warnings that safety advocates and government officials provide drivers with, cell phone use while driving continues to remain a dangerous – and often deadly – problem. Cell phones and other wireless devices are the number one cause of distracted driving. Don’t be a distracted driver.

Distracted Driver

Study after study concludes the alarming increased risks drivers face when they take attention away from the road and focus on their cell phone. Whether it is talking, texting, checking emails, or other app use, the fact is that using your cell phone while driving takes almost 37 percent of your focus away from the road. Yet the number of drivers who engage in cell phone use is staggering.

Each year, distraction from cell phone use accounts for at least 25 percent of all police-reported vehicle crashes, at a cost of more than $230 billion.

The facts, a driver:

  • Using their cell phone while driving reduces their reaction time as if they had a blood alcohol concentration of .08 percent.
  • Reaching for their cell phone increases their risk of being in a crash 1.4 times.
  • Using their cell phone quadruples their risk of being in a crash where they, or their passengers, suffer serious injuries such as those to the brain or neck.
  • Dialing on their cell phone are three times more likely to get into a crash than a driver who is totally focused on the road.
  • Talking on their phone is almost 1.5 times more at risk of getting into a crash than a non-distracted driver.

Nevada is one of more than a dozen states which have enacted hands-free driving laws. It is a primary law, meaning that it can be the main reason why law enforcement pulls a driver over.

Drivers found guilty of driving while physically handling their cell phone face fines that range from $50 for the first offense up to $250 and a six-month license suspension if there are subsequent offenses within seven years. Penalties are even more severe if the offense took place in a work zone.

More about the law

Under the law, drivers are not allowed to handle their cell phones when they are driving. This includes when stopped at stop lights. GPS and music are not allowed if those activities require the device to be in the driver’s hand.

Drivers are allowed to use their device if it is hands-free (i.e. Bluetooth) or if they have an in-car voice command system. If drivers do need to use their device for an emergency, they are required to pull off the road.

Injured in an accident because of a distracted driver? Contact us today! We look forward to speaking with you.