The Importance of Underinsured and Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Nevada

uninsured motorist coverage in Nevada
Contact us for more info about uninsured motorist coverage.

Under Nevada law, every car owner is required to have liability insurance for their vehicle. The minimum amount required: $15,000 per person/$30,000 per accident. This liability insurance covers the cost of damages in the event the car owner is at-fault in an accident.

Although this is mandatory coverage, when you consider the total costs, these minimum amounts often don’t cover all damages.

From hospital bills, surgeries, rehab, medication, loss of income from being unable to work – the minimum can leave an injured victim in a financial mess.

This is where the underinsured/uninsured (UIM/UM) insurance benefit can help. Once damages exceed the amount of the other driver’s insurance limit, your own UIM/UM benefit will begin covering your damages, up to the limit amount you chose.

Not only does this insurance benefit cover you in the event the at-fault driver has minimum coverage, it will also cover you if the at-fault driver has no insurance.

Although Nevada requires this coverage, not everyone obeys that law and many drivers on the state’s roads let their insurance policy lapse.

Your UIM/UM policy will cover your damages in a crash with an uninsured driver. UIM/UM insurance will also cover you in the event of a hit-and-run accident.

Need help with a uninsured motorist coverage claim?

This is not the case. Your regular vehicle insurance basically covers damages if you are at-fault in a crash. Your UIM/UM benefit will cover damages if the other driver is at-fault.

Contact us today when involved in an accident with an uninsured motorist. Free consults and we collect no fee unless you win. Your attorney does not request payment unless you win your first, because your success is our top priority. We won’t give up on helping you receive Las Vegas worker’s compensation. We can’t wait to start on your case.