How Many Hours Do You Have to Report an Accident in Las Vegas?

Lerner and Rowe Injury Attorneys
time to report an accident in Las Vegas

The answer to the question “How many hours do you have to report an accident in Las Vegas?” depends on who you need to report to. In regards to your insurer, it depends on what is stated in your insurance contract. In regards to reporting the collision to law enforcement, you have a matter of days. 

Our Las Vegas car accident lawyers suggest that you first notify law enforcement, whether you were at fault or not. Second, seek immediate medical attention for any injuries. Third, contact an experienced personal injury law firm to get help dealing with insurers.  

Do I Have to Report a Car Accident in Las Vegas to the Police?

Yes. NRS 484E.050 requires drivers to give “immediate notice” to the nearest police officer or highway patrol if they are involved in a car accident with another vehicle that resulted in:

  • Personal injury
  • Death
  • Any property damage 

If injuries prevent you from doing so at the scene of the accident, then a capable passenger should call and report the accident.

Does a Driver or Vehicle Owner Have to File Anything after a Car Wreck in Las Vegas?

Accident in Las Vegas

Yes. Pursuant to NRS 484E.070 and 484E.080, a driver or owner of a vehicle must file an SR-1 report within 10 days after any crash that occurred in the state of Nevada and was NOT investigated at the scene by law enforcement.

More specifically, all sections of the report (for all drivers and vehicles involved in the wreck) must be completed. If not, the form cannot be accepted or processed. Further, the DMV may suspend a driver’s license for not submitting a completed report. The 10 days timeline does not apply, however, if you are incapacitated.

The SR-1 form is available at dmvnv.com

What Information Must I Include in the Owner/Driver Report?

In addition to the date, time, location, and a brief description of the accident, an owner/driver must provide the following:

  1. A copy of your insurance that was in effect on the date of the crash for the vehicle involved
  2. An estimate of repairs or a statement of total loss if there was $750 or more in vehicle or property damage (to any one person)
  3. A doctor’s statement of injury for each person injured in your vehicle (if the crash resulted in bodily injury or death)

Related: Accident Lawyers in Las Vegas Want You to Know About Uninsured Drivers

Will Reporting a Las Vegas Car Accident Affect My Insurance Premiums?

Your insurance premiums may be affected if you are found to be fully or partially at fault for the accident. Some insurance companies may even increase your premiums even if you weren’t at fault. It all depends on the terms listed in your insurance contract. 

Additionally, if you were at fault and don’t let your insurance company know about the collision,  you might end up paying thousands of dollars out of pocket should your insurer refuse to cover the other driver’s damages. Or, you could be dropped for breach of contract.

Related: Negligence in a Las Vegas Car Accident Case

How Long Do I Have to File a Lawsuit after a Car Accident in Las Vegas?

Under Nevada Revised Statutes 11.190(4)(e), a car accident injury victim has just two years from the date of the accident in which to file a lawsuit. The same two-year statute of limitation exists for wrongful death lawsuits filed by family members or representatives on behalf of victims killed from car accident injuries. However, the lawsuit must be filed two years from the day the victim died. 

If you try to file after the two years pass, the defendant can request the lawsuit be dismissed and you could lose out on any compensation or justice.

Injured in a Las Vegas car accident? Please contact Lerner and Rowe Injury Attorneys for a free case evaluation 24/7. Our personal injury team knows how to uncomplicate local traffic accident and injury laws and is ready to deal with the insurance company directly so that you can focus on your recovery. 

Give us a call today at 702-877-1500, chat with a Live representative now, or share more details about your accident through an online form. 

The information on this blog is for general information purposes only. Nothing herein should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.