Nevada Distracted Driving Laws

distracted driving in Nevada

Distracted driving in Nevada is a serious and often deadly problem. Those who use a hand-held device when driving are 1.3 times more likely to experience a serious car accident, according to data from the Nevada Department of Transportation (NDOT). With smartphones and other electronic devices, like infotainment systems in the majority of modern cars, drivers are more likely than ever to be distracted while behind the wheel. As a result, Nevada has enacted laws to prohibit certain types of distracted driving and protect drivers on the roads. 

Here, the Nevada personal injury attorneys from Lerner and Rowe explain the state’s distracted driving laws, answer some frequently asked questions. 

Nevada Distracted Driving Laws Explained

Nevada is one of the many states that have passed bans on using cellphones and other hand-held devices while driving. NRS 484B.165 prohibits the use of handheld cell phones for texting, instant messaging, or accessing the internet while driving a vehicle. 

However, dashboard mounted hands-free headsets are allowed for making calls, as are Bluetooth connected devices. The law does not prohibit touching the phone to activate or deactivate a feature, such as accepting a call, but the device must be hands free while the driver is talking. 

There are some exceptions, including: 

  • Reporting a crime, safety hazard, or medical emergency
  • Using a  voice-operated navigation system
  • Those operating a motor vehicle as part of their employment duties as a peace officer, firefighter, or emergency medical technician

Violating this law is a misdemeanor. Anyone found guilty is subject to fines of:

  • $50 for a first offense within 7 years
  • $100 for a second offense within 7 years
  • $350 for a third or subsequent offense within 7 years

Fines may be doubled in work zones. Anyone violating this law may also be subject to demerit points on their driver’s license and possible court costs. Violations of Nevada’s distracted driving laws can result in fines, and repeat offenders may face more severe penalties, such as license suspension or even jail time.

Along with prohibiting the use of handheld electronic devices, distracted driving in Nevada also includes actions like:

  • Eating or drinking
  • Smoking
  • Adjusting the radio
  • Looking at a map
  • Talking to passengers
  • Grooming yourself
  • Daydreaming

While these activities may seem harmless, they can divert a driver’s attention from the road and increase the risk of an accident or even a wrongful death

Distracted Driving FAQs 

Is it illegal to text while driving in Nevada? 

Yes, it is illegal to text using a handheld device in Nevada. This includes texting, talking, accessing the internet, instant messaging, operating apps, or even reading from a handheld device. 

Can I use a hands-free device while driving in Nevada? 

You can use a hands-free device while driving in Nevada. Bluetooth earpieces and other voice-activated devices are allowed. 

If I get a ticket for using a cellphone while driving, am I guilty of a moving violation? 

For a first offense, it is not considered a moving violation in Nevada. However, for a second or third offense, it is considered a moving violation and may result in four points added to the driver’s license history.

Will I be charged with a crime for texting and driving in Nevada? 

Texting and driving in Nevada can lead to criminal charges. Distracted drivers may also face charges if their actions resulted in an accident or injuries.

Related: How to Avoid Distracted Driving Car Accidents

Injured By a Distracted Driver? Contact Lerner and Rowe  

Distracted driving may seem harmless, and it’s likely you’ve used your phone or engaged in other distracting activities while driving. All it takes is a single incident to cause an accident that can lead to devastating consequences, like catastrophic injuries. If you or a loved one have been injured by a distracted driver, a personal injury attorney from Lerner and Rowe can help. 

Our legal team has a track record of obtaining billion-dollar results for clients injured by distracted drivers in Nevada. At your free case consultation, your attorney will review the facts of your case and determine the best course of action to see that you receive compensation for your injuries, pain and suffering, lost wages, and more due to an accident. We are available 24/7 to help and charge no fees unless we make a financial recovery on your behalf.

Contact us today by calling 702-877-1500, connecting with a representative via LiveChat, or by sending us a message

The information on this blog is for general information purposes only. Nothing herein should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.